Does McDonald’s Have Gluten-Free Menu Items?

7 minute read | Published: May 23, 2024 | Updated: June 09, 2024

✅ Human-Crafted & Reviewed

McDonald's Gluten-Free Products Available in Portugal

While some European countries have a gluten-free menu at McDonald’s including Norway and Spain, this is not the case in the US. Here is McDonald’s official statement dated March 04, 2021:

McDonald’s currently doesn’t certify any menu items as gluten-free. We encourage you to check the ingredients information for individual menu items. However, despite taking precautions, normal kitchen operations may involve some shared cooking and preparation areas, equipment and utensils, and the possibility exists for your food items to come in contact with other food products, including some that may contain gluten.

So basically, McDonald’s does not have a menu specifically labeled gluten-free.

However, I’ve taken the liberty to browse through its menu and inspect each ingredient, in order to create this list for you so you can figure out what to order if you’re trying to stay away from foods that contain allergies.

If you have Celiac disease or have severe gluten allergies, perhaps it’s best to avoid eating at McDonald’s altogether.

McDonald’s Gluten-Free Menu Items

Unlike some countries in Europe where McDonald’s has a gluten-free menu, in the US it does not have certified gluten-free menu items. All the food is prepared in shared equipment and utensils which may potentially lead to cross-contamination. So how do you eat gluten-free at McDonald’s?

First off, avoid the French fries and hash browns. They contain wheat derivatives and cooked in a shared fryer so there could be cross-contamination.

Now for burgers, the patties are made from 100% beef which means there are no preservatives and fillers. But the problem is that in the US, McDonald’s doesn’t offer gluten-free buns.

If you want to eat a burger, then request that it be served in a lettuce wrap instead of a bun. If no lettuce wrap is available, then perhaps just eat the burger without the bun/wrap. You can do this for its hamburgers, cheeseburgers, Big Macs, Quarter Pounder, McDoubles etc.

With McDonald’s breakfast items, unfortunately most items on the menu have gluten including biscuits, English muffins and griddle cakes. I recommend simply ordering the dish without these items. Example, you can get a Sausage Burrito without the tortilla or the Bacon, Egg & Cheese without the muffin.

For dipping sauces, the good news is that McDonald’s has several gluten-free options like Ketchup, Honey Mustard, Mustard, Spicy Buffalo, Creamy Ranch, Honey, and Mayo. If available, ask for the sauces in packets.

For desserts and sweets, you may opt for McFlurry with M&M’s, Sundaes (Hot Fudge, Hot Caramel Sundae), Shakes (Chocolate, Vanilla, Strawberry), vanilla ice cream and apple slices.

For drinks, gluten-free options at McDonald’s include coffee, orange juice, apple juice, tea and Coco Cola products.

Is the McDonald’s Coffee Gluten-Free?

Yes, McDonald’s premium roast coffee is gluten-free. Other McCafe drinks you can order that do not contain gluten include:

  • Americano
  • Cappuccino
  • Iced Coffee
  • Hot & Iced Latte
  • Hot & Iced Macchiato
  • Hot & Iced Mocha
  • Frappe
  • Hot Chocolate
  • Smoothies

Are the Chicken McNuggets at McDonald’s Gluten-Free?

Unfortunate, the McNuggets use breading that contains wheat flour which means if you have severe gluten allergies or Celiac disease, you should avoid this item.

Does McDonald’s certify any of their menu items as gluten-free?

None of the items on the McDonald’s menu are certified gluten-free.

Check here the McDonalds menu prices and discounts!

Is the McDonald’s fries gluten-free?

French fries are NOT gluten free as they are coated in a wheat beef flavoring and also has a risk for cross contamination. I’ve heard that the McDonald’s fries in Europe are gluten-free however this is not the case here in the US.

You can learn more about large fry at McDonalds!

McDonald’s Gluten Free Menu Items Summary

To know the individual ingredients of each McDonald’s menu item and to find out which items may be considered gluten-free or modified to become such, you may refer to this Allergen Booklet as well as the Nutrition Calculator.

For more insights into McDonald’s global presence and the number of locations worldwide, you can visit our article on how many McDonald’s are in the world

Category: Dietary Info